In Person

The four young singers who make up the "Dresdner Vocal Quartett" are ordinary people and only one of them is a professional musician. They all sing because they love music and have a close relationship. All the better that their voices fit together perfectly.

foto of the quartet
Ben Uhle, Tenor I, was born on the 28th of October 1973 in Halle/Saale. As an 8-year-old boy he went to Dresden with his parents and joined the "Dresdner Kreuzchor". After leaving school (Kreuzschule Dresden, the home of the choir) in 1992 he went to Hamburg with his friends where he worked in an old people's home.
After that he spent some time in Australia before he began studying medicine at the Justus-Liebig-University in Gießen. After three years he aborted medcine and began to study "Culture and Management" at the HTWS Zittau/Görlitz.
Besides the Dresdner Vocal Quartett he is also a founding member of the "Cantamus Dresden" chamber choir and since 1993 he has been part of the "Thüringischen Akademischen Singkreis" choir.

Dirk Eisold, Tenor II, was born on the 28th of January 1974 in Görlitz (near the Polish border). From 1983 to 1992 he was a member of the world famous boys' choir "Dresdner Kreuzchor". After leaving school he did his community service in Hamburg where he worked first at a hospital and later at a special home for handicapped people.
In spring 1995 he studied at a psychiatric hospital and in the autumn of the same year he began studying social pedagogics and social work at the University of Tecnology in Dresden.
As well as his participation in the quartet he sings with several different ensembles, for instance the "Cantamus Dresden" chamber choir and a group of Madrigal-singers. Occasionally he takes part in certain projects with other choirs.

Stephan Döge, Bass I, is the only native of Dresden. He was born on 10th of May 1974 and like the other three he went to the "Dresdner Kreuzchor" from 1983 until 1992. He did his community service in an old people's home in Hamburg and after that, along with his friend, Martin Lehmann, he spent a year travelling through South America.
He studies French and Spanish at the University of Dresden and will soon be working as a teacher.
Besides the quartet he has been one of the founders of the "Cantamus Dresden" chamber choir and has been singing several years with the "Thüringischen Akademischen Singkreis" choir.
Along with Ben Uhle he is responsible for the organization of the "Dresdner Vocal Quartett" and is the author of these Internet pages.

Martin Lehmann, Conductor and Bass II, was born on the 21st of August 1973 in Malchin (Mecklenburg-Vorpommern). Since 1977 he has been living in Dresden, where he joined the "Dresdner Kreuzchor in 1983. There he studied the most important choir works and obtained a well founded musical education. After finishing school in 1992 he left the choir and did his community service in an old people's home in Hamburg. At the same time he often rehearsed with the new founded quartet and was its conducter in numerous concerts and during their concert tours. His long-standing wish to go to South America with Stephan Döge became reality in spring 1994.
On his return to Dresden he did a one-year course in music and became a member of several choirs. In 1995, along with some friends, he founded the "Cantamus Dresden" chamber choir whose conductor he is, too.
After that he has been studying choral conducting with Hans-Christoph Rademann at the "Carl Maria von Weber" Music College in Dresden. He is also a member and conducting assistent of the "Kammerchor Dresden" choir which he conducted for instance in some concerts for the Festival of Ancient Musik in Bernau, in the Marienstern Monastery and during its concert tour in India.
Since November 2001 he is working as the conductor of the "Schola Cantorum" choir school in Leipzig and is holding a position as a guest lecturer at the Dresden Mucic Collge.
© Dresdner Vocal Quartett
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Persönliches

Die vier Sänger, aus denen das Dresdner Vocal Quartett besteht, sind im Alltag ganz normale Menschen, wobei nur einer von ihnen beruflicher Musiker ist. Sie singen alle aus Freude an der Musik und sind durch enge freundschaftliche Beziehungen verbunden.

Foto des Ensembles
Ben Uhle, Tenor I, wurde am 28.10.1973 in Halle an der Saale geboren. In seinem achten Lebensjahr zog er mit seinen Eltern nach Dresden und wurde in den Dresdner Kreuzchor aufgenommen. Nach dem Abitur in der Kreuzschule Dresden (1992) ging er wie auch die anderen Mitglieder des Ensembles nach Hamburg, um seinen Zivildienst in einem Alten- und Pflegeheim zu leisten.
Im Anschluß daran verbrachte er eine längere Zeit in Australien, bevor er im Herbst 1994 sein Studium für Humanmedizin an der Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen aufnahm. Nach drei Jahren wechselte er die Fachrichtung und studierte an der HTWS Zittau/Görlitz den UNESCO-Studiengang "Kultur und Management".
Neben dem Dresdner Vocal Quartett ist Ben noch Gründungsmitglied des Kammerchores Cantamus Dresden e.V. und singt seit 1993 beim Thüringischen Akademischen Singkreis mit.

Dirk Eisold, Tenor II, wurde am 28.1.1974 in Görlitz an der Neiße geboren. Von 1983 (d.h. ab der 3. Klasse) bis 1992 (Abitur) war er Mitglied im Dresdner Kreuzchor. Nach dem Abitur folgte der Zivildienst in Hamburg, wo er zuerst in einem Reha-Krankenhaus und später dann in einem integrativen Wohnhaus für Menschen mit Behinderung gearbeitet hat.
Im Frühjahr 1995 folgte dann ein pflegerisches Praktikum in einer psychiatrischen Klinik. Im Herbst desselben Jahres begann sein Studium der Sozialpädagogik und Sozialarbeit an der Technischen Universität Dresden.
Außer seiner Mitwirkung im Quartett singt er noch in mehreren anderen Ensembles mit, zum Beispiel im Kammerchor Cantamus Dresden, mit Freunden in einem Madrigalkreis sowie ab und zu bei A-cappella-Programmen und chorsinfonischen Werken in anderen Chören.

Stephan Döge, Baß I, ist der einzige gebürtige Dresdner des Ensembels. Er erblickte am 10.5.1974 das Licht der Welt und ging wie alle drei anderen von 1983 bis 1992 in den Dresdner Kreuzchor. Seinen Zivildienst leistete er in einem Hamburger Altenheim und reiste anschließend (1994-1995) zusammen mit Martin Lehmann ein Jahr durch Südamerika.
Er studiert an der Technischen Universität Dresden das Fach Lehramt (Spanisch und Französisch) am Institut für Romanistik.
Neben dem Quartett war er langjähriges Mitglied im Kammerchor Cantamus Dresden und im Thüringischen Akademischen Singkreis. Er ist beim Dresdner Vocal Quartett zusammen mit Ben Uhle für die Organisation verantwortlich und erstellt die gesamte Internetrepräsentation.

Martin Lehmann, künstlerische Leitung und Baß II, wurde am 21. August 1973 in Malchin (Mecklenburg-Vorpommern) geboren. Seit 1977 wohnt er in Dresden, wo er 1983 in den Dresdner Kreuzchor eintrat. 1992 schloß er seine Schulausbildung mit dem Abitur ab und beendete damit seine Zeit in diesem Knabenchor. 1992-1994 leistete er seinen Zivildienst auf der Pflegestation eines Hamburger Altenheimes. "Nebenbei" erarbeitete er in zahlreichen Proben mit dem neu gegründeten Quartett ein großes Repertoire und leitete es bei seinen Konzerten und auf ersten Reisen. Die mit Stephan geborene Idee, für ein Jahr nach Südamerika zu gehen wurde im Frühjahr 1994 Wirklichkeit.
Nach der Rückkehr nach Dresden folgte ein einjähriges Studium der Musikwissenschaften und die Mitwirkung in mehreren Chören. 1995 gründete er mit weiteren Freunden den Kammerchor Cantamus Dresden, dessen Leiter er ist.
Danach studierte er Chorleitung bei Hans-Christoph Rademann an der Hochschule für Musik "Carl Maria von Weber". Des weiteren ist er Mitglied des Dresdner Kammerchores und trat mit diesem Ensemble zum Fest Alter Musik in Bernau, im Kloster Marienstern sowie in Indien und Südamerika als Dirigent auf.
Seit November 2001 ist Martin Lehmann Leiter des Leipziger Chores Schola Cantorum und folgt einem Lehrauftrag an der Dresdner Hochschule für Musik.
© Dresdner Vocal Quartett
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!